Dan W Renfro

One important feature of the MVD-MVAGC Partnering Agreement is to recognize Partnering successes.  In view of this aspect of the Partnering Agreement, the MVD-AGC Partnering Award was established in Fiscal Year 1999 to recognize the Federal contractor and MVD district engaged in a formally partnered contract the execution of which best exemplified the principles of partnering. Nomination guidelinesnomination form, and evaluation criteria were formulated and the first MVD-AGC Partnering Award was presented at the 2000 Branch Annual Meeting.

At the 2004 Branch Annual Meeting the name of the award was changed to the Dan W. Renfro Partnering Award in memory of Dan W. Renfro, retired Chief of Construction-Operations for the Mississippi Valley Division and Executive Vice President of Mississippi Valley Branch at the time of his unexpected death in August 2003.  Dan was a champion of partnering during his career with the Corps of Engineers as well as his tenure with the Mississippi Valley Branch and played an instrumental role in formalizing the MVD-MVAGC partnership and the MVD-MVAGC Partnership Agreement.

Recipients of the Dan W. Renfro Partnering Award (Year listed is date of presentation)

2000 - Goodwin Brothers Construction Co., St. Louis, MO & St. Louis District

2001 - Civil Constructors, Inc., Franklin, TN & Rock Island District

2002 - J. F. Brennan Co., Inc., LaCrosse, WI & Rock Island District

2003 - Merrick Construction Company, Cottonport, LA & Vicksburg District

2004 - Midwest Foundation Corporation, Tremont, IL & St. Louis District & Massman Construction Company, Kansas City, MO

2005 - Industrial Contract Services, Inc., Grand Forks, ND & St. Paul District

2006 - Industrial Contract Services, Inc., Grand Forks, ND & St. Paul District

2007 - J. F. Brennan Co., Inc., LaCrosse, WI & Rock Island District

2008 - Industrial Builders, Inc., Fargo, ND & St. Paul District

2009 - Weston Solutions, Inc. & Hurricane Protection Office

2010 - L.W. Matteson, Inc. & Eastern Area Office, St. Paul District

2011 - Chancellor and Son, Inc. & Greenwood Area Office, Vicksburg District

2012 - Phylway Construction LLC, Thibodaux, LA & New Orleans District & First-Yates, a Joint Venture, Jackson, MS & Vidalia Area Office, Vicksburg District

2013 - J. F. Brennan Co., Inc., LaCrosse, WI & Rock Island District

2014 - No Award Recipient

2015 - No Award Recipient

2016 - Luhr Bros., Inc., Columbia, IL & Memphis District

2017 - ASI-ECI Joint Venture, Pueblo West, CO & Rock Island District

2018 - Massman Construction Co., Kansas City, MO and B & K Construction Co., LLC, Mandeville, LA

2019 - BIS Services, LLC, Kenner, LA

2020 - J. F. Brennan Company, La Crosse, WI  & Advanced Concrete Sawing, St. Paul, MN

2021 - Weeks Marine, Inc., Covington, LA and Tarlton Corporation, St. Louis, MO

2019 Dan W. Renfro Partnering Award Presentation during 2020 Annual Roundtable Meeting

J. F. Brennan Co., Inc., La Crosse, WI and their subcontractor, Advance Concrete Sawing, St. Paul, MN, were awarded the Dan W. Renfro Partnering Award by the Branch and the Mississippi Valley Division for their project Mississippi River, Lock and Dam 20, Support Beams.  Congratulations! 

(Pictured:  Bob Lanham, Incoming National AGC President; Jamey Sanders, Chair, MVAGC Partnering Committee; Rich White, Advanced Concrete Sawing; Rory Alsberg, Wyatt Eaton & Mike Binsfeld, J. F. Brennan Co.; and MG R. Mark Toy, MVD Commander