Dan W. Renfro Partnering Award

One important feature of the MVD-MVAGC Partnering Agreement is to recognize Partnering successes.  In view of this aspect of the Partnering Agreement, the MVD-AGC Partnering Award was established in Fiscal Year 1999 to recognize the Federal contractor and MVD district engaged in a formally partnered contract the execution of which best exemplified the principles of partnering. Nomination guidelines, nomination form, and evaluation criteria were formulated and the first MVD-AGC Partnering Award was presented at the 2000 Branch Annual Meeting.

At the 2004 Branch Annual Meeting the name of the award was changed to the Dan W. Renfro Partnering Award in memory of Dan W. Renfro, retired Chief of Construction-Operations for the Mississippi Valley Division and Executive Vice President of Mississippi Valley Branch at the time of his unexpected death in August 2003.  Dan was a champion of partnering during his career with the Corps of Engineers as well as his tenure with the Mississippi Valley Branch and played an instrumental role in formalizing the MVD-MVAGC partnership and the MVD-MVAGC Partnership Agreement.



Recipients of the Dan W. Renfro Partnering Award  (Year listed is date of presentation)

2000 - Goodwin Brothers Construction Co., St. Louis, MO & St. Louis District
2001 - Civil Constructors, Inc., Franklin, TN & Rock Island District
2002 - J. F. Brennan Co., Inc., LaCrosse, WI & Rock Island District
2003 - Merrick Construction Company, Cottonport, LA & Vicksburg District
2004 - Midwest Foundation Corporation, Tremont, IL & St. Louis District 
2004 - Massman Construction Company, Kansas City, MO & St. Louis District
2005 - Industrial Contract Services, Inc., Grand Forks, ND & St. Paul District
2006 - Industrial Contract Services, Inc., Grand Forks, ND & St. Paul District
2007 - J. F. Brennan Co., Inc., LaCrosse, WI & Rock Island District
2008 - Industrial Builders, Inc., Fargo, ND & St. Paul District
2009 - Weston Solutions, Inc. & Hurricane Protection Office New Orleans District
2010 - L.W. Matteson, Inc. & Eastern Area Office, St. Paul District
2011 - Chancellor and Son, Inc. & Greenwood Area Office, Vicksburg District
2012 - Phylway Construction LLC, Thibodaux, LA & New Orleans District & First-Yates, a JV Jackson, MS & Vidalia Area Office, Vicksburg Dist.
2013 - J. F. Brennan Co., Inc., LaCrosse, WI & Rock Island District
2014 - No Award Recipient
2015 - No Award Recipient
2016 - Luhr Bros., Inc., Columbia, IL & Memphis District
2017 - ASI-ECI Joint Venture, Pueblo West, CO & Rock Island District
2018 - Massman Construction Co., Kansas City, MO & Rock Island District 
2018 - B & K Construction Co., LLC, Mandeville, LA & New Orleans District
2019 - BIS Services, LLC, Kenner, LA & New Orleans District
2020 - J. F. Brennan Company, La Crosse, WI  & Advanced Concrete Sawing, St. Paul, MN & Rock Island Dist. 
2021 - Weeks Marine, Inc., Covington, LA & New Orleans District
2021 - Tarlton Corporation, St. Louis, MO & St. Louis District
2022 - Ames Construction, Burnsville, MN & St. Paul District


2021 Dan W. Renfro Partnering Award Presentation during 2022 Annual Roundtable Meeting 

AMES CONSTRUCTION, BURNSVILLE, MO was awarded the Dan W. Renfro Partnering Award by the Branch and the Mississippi Valley Division for their project Fargo Moorhead Metro Diversion Inlet Structure in the St. Paul District, Corps of Engineers.  


 (Pictured:  MG Diana Holland, Division Commander, MVD; Ben Herden, Area Project Manager, Ames Construction; Jamey Sanders, Chair, MVAGC Partnering Committee;  and Col. Karl Jansen, District Commander, St. Paul District.